Skip to content

Bacon Toffee Almond Butter Cookies

July 7, 2010

It’s a sad truth…I live by the WORST grocery store in the entire world. Nia can attest to that. I try not to go there very often but it’s the only one that’s close so sometimes laziness takes precedence. But this Super Fresh is far from what its name implies. The produce is always horrendous, the products outdated, and there is nothing more gourmet there than Lucky Charms. So when I headed out there today to gather supplies for my cookies I should have known better. My grocery list had almond butter and toffee chocolate and needless to say I found neither. Instead I grabbed a pack of unsalted almonds to attempt to make my own almond butter, and swung by 7-11 for a Heath Bar whose packaging was enrobed with dust. Lovely.

I should have listened to my nose as I blended up the almond butter, but I was being impatient and I wanted to make my cookies! So I was stupid and proceeded to make the cookies with what were undeniably rancid almonds. I threw them all out.

So it was off to the grocery store again, but this time, along with my dad, we took the long trip to the BEST grocery store in the entire world. It’s called the Common Market and it is all-organic and half of the products support local farmers and vendors. My family and I have been shopping there for about the last month and we have been exceptionally pleased. Everything has tasted wonderful and fresh and has more flavor that any other food I’ve ever eaten. But more on the Common Market in another post (perhaps I’ll give you a photo tour later). I fulfilled my mission and obtained good almond butter, organic toffee chocolate, and raw, natural dark brown sugar.

So the second round went waaay better and the cookies were delicious! The raw brown sugar added a really good molasses-y taste and they were the perfect blend of salty, sweet, and nutty. It’s a major adaptation of a super tasty peanut butter cookie by Sarah Magid in her cookbook Organic and Chic that I have had previous successes with (I watched a fitness and health guru friend gobble down five in a row). But I am really interested in the bacon dessert trend and wanted to play around with it so after toil and agony, I think I did something successful with this cookie. Enjoy.

Bacon Toffee Almond Butter Cookies

½ cup butter (1 stick), softened
1 cup almond butter
½ cup white sugar
¾ cup brown sugar
pinch of salt
2 tsp. pure vanilla extract
1 egg
¾ tsp. baking powder
1 cup flour
¼ cup chopped almonds
½ cup chopped toffee chocolate (I used Green & Blacks)
7 slices bacon, cooked until crispy and crumbled fine.

Preheat oven to 350. Start by cooking up the bacon by your preferred method until very crispy and chop it up quite fine. Five of the slices will be used to mix into the batter and two slices for sprinkling on top of the cookies. Next, blend up the butter, almond butter, sugars, and salt in the mixer until fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add the vanilla and egg and mix until combined. Finally, add the baking soda and flour and give the mixer a whirl until everything is just combined.

Fold in the chopped almonds, chopped chocolate, and 5 slices of the chopped bacon. Drop the cookie dough onto a parchment-lined baking sheet (or a baking stone if you have one like mine) by the rounded tablespoon. Use a fork to press down the cookie dough, making a crosshatch pattern. Sprinkle the remaining bacon on top. Pop them into the oven for about 12-15 minutes until still soft in the middle, but starting to harden on the edges. Let them cool for about 5 minutes before transferring them to a cooling rack and then you are free to scarf them down.

-Katie

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sheri permalink
    July 18, 2010 9:31 pm

    Hi Katie & Nia: I work next to your mom and have been hearing wonderful things about you both. She treated me to one of your deliriously delicious cookies infused with bacon. WOW. Loving bacon as I do, I was in hog heaven (pun intended) savoring this unusual cookie. I can’t wait to try your recipe on my kids without telling them what’s in them. Your blog is so well written and so interesting. I wish you both the best in your future endeavors and look forward to following your exceptional commentary. Sheri

Trackbacks

  1. The Classic Cookie «

Leave a Reply

