Skip to content

If you cant take the heat, get out of the kitchen!

July 7, 2010

Typical. Of course my first forays in to the food blogosphere occurs right at the start of a heat wave (in Boston, who knew?). The very idea of stepping into my kitchen to do anything other than stand in front of the refrigerator with the door open to cool off sends me in to a heat stroke. Its hot enough with two people just sitting in the dark, with the fan on, trying not to breathe too much hot air into the room. Cooking? Not today, sorry.

One thing the summer heat means though, is a rainbow of fruits in every grocery store or farmers market. My favorite fruits come into season this time of year, stone fruits. The scent of a peach conjures up memories of bare feet, sticky fingers and sunshine. I can remember eating peaches fresh from a family friend’s orchard, leaning forward at that first bight to keep the rupture of juices from dripping onto my t-shirt. This past weekend I shared my first summer plum with a friend on the beach. It was still chilled nicely from a day in the cooler, condensation beading on its deep purple skin; skin pulled taught as if the juices were threatening to explode. I was given to the go ahead to take the first bite, and as my teeth punctured the tight skin, a river of juice began to flow down my chin, through my fingers and down my arm, pooling in the crescent of my bent elbow. The bite revealed flesh so deeply colored, we joked that we were eating not a plum, but a giant blueberry. As we passed the plum back and forth, leaving a trail of purple juice between us, it really did feel like summer.

I have been thinking about that plum for three days now. I wish I hadn’t shared. And since I am an English major with a penchant for food (or maybe I am a foodie with a penchant for words?) I cant but help to think of poet William Carlos William.

This Is Just To Say
By William Carlos Williams

I have eaten
the plums
that were in
the icebox

and which
you were probably
saving
for breakfast

Forgive me
they were delicious
so sweet
and so cold

Enjoy. Stay inside. Eat plums.
-Nia

Leave a Reply

