Skip to content

Lunch Time Chicken Salad

October 26, 2010

It can be so tempting to eat out for lunch. Everyday as I sit at my desk and countdown till my lunch hour, I debate back and forth about what to have and where to go. With options like Salvatore’s Pizza (the bbq chicken is UNREAL), J. Pace and Flour Bakery, its easy to ditch the boring packed turkey sandwich and opt for something more tasty and exciting. My wallet and waistline can really only support this decision once a week though. I find its easier to chose the lunch I already have packed when I have something to actually look forward to. Chicken salad is one of my go-tos for a couple of reasons- 1. its easy and you can really toss in whatever you have and whatever you like 2. Its filling for a long day at work and 3. It can be pretty cheap. I love to toss in fruit like grapes or apples for a sweet bite and nuts for crunch.

Rotisserie Chicken Salad

1 Rotisserie Chicken
1 cup of grapes cut in half
1/2 cup of toasted walnuts
3 Green Onions
1 cup of Light Mayo
1-2 tablespoons of Dijon or Honey Mustard
Juice of 1 lemon
1 tablespoon of fresh tarragon
1 tablespoon of cumin (optional, we like this smokey taste with the sweet grapes)
Sea Salt and Fresh Ground black pepper

Mix the ingredients for your dressing together and let this rest while you pick the meat off of your rotisserie chicken. Toast your walnuts, keeping a close eye on them so they don’t burn. Slice your grapes and you green onions. Add the dressing to the chicken, walnuts, grapes and green onions. Add a little bit at a time and stir so you can decide how “wet” you want it to be. Mix everything together and taste, adding salt and pepper and adjusting other ingredients (I added more cumin).

****

A few notes. If you are taking this for lunch as a sandwich, pack the chicken salad and your bread separately. If you are watching your calories, you can substitute low-fat sour cream or yogurt for half of the mayo. If I have celery and carrots available, I put those in as well. Curry powder can also be substituted for the cumin.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

