Skip to content

Coming Out of Hibernation

January 11, 2011
by

Sorry for such an intense delay in To Boston and Bake Again…but the reasoning I believe is quite sound.  After my return from London, the place where most beautiful homemade and fresh food exists, it was back to the regular old eating habits, which at home are actually quite good still.  Compared to what I had experienced the three previous months, however, I couldn’t get quite as excited about it as I normally would have.  I needed a little break from the intensive food writing too…it was my Christmas vacation after all.

Although that’s not to say that I didn’t enjoy some wonderful food with my family during the holidays.  I got to make up for some serious lack of time spent baking and spent two days in Christmas cookie heaven.  I would give you recipes but they are not available to me at the moment so perhaps later.  This year we kept with our traditional Christmas favorites (white chocolate, cranberry, oatmeal cookies and Nutella cookies), had another go a at well liked cookie from last summer’s experimentation (sweet and salty chocolate peanut butter cookies) and something new (amazingly crisp and perfectly textured almond and pistachio biscotti).  These are the ones pictured and they are even better dipped first in chocolate and then dipped into morning coffee.

And, as usual, my mom and I made Christmas bread, this wonderfully simple and overly indulgent breakfast pastry that we’ve enjoyed for the last 10 years or so on Christmas morning.  I have no idea where the recipe came from but I’m so glad that I somehow made its way into our hands.  It’s one of those few food traditions in my family and because of that, it is one of the things I look most forward to each year.  We use this recipe except we don’t add the icing at the end because trust me its sweet and rich enough even without it.

The past month was also filled with quite a few warm and hearty soups, stews, and chilies with good bread paired alongside it of course.  We enjoyed my favorite wintertime meat, pork tenderloin, and, regardless of my dad’s disliking, quite a few wonderful sweet potatoes and butternut squashes including this one YUM!

But now I’m back at regular college, back in a dorm room, back to kitchen deprivation, and back to campus food, which means back to a severe culinary depression.  I may not have a lot to write about then unless I make frequent trips home and cook there (which is actually very likely) or go to one of the very few restaurants in this town so I guess there is hope yet.  But to fill you in, the next three months my diet will consist of mainly boring salads and hummus sandwiches so if my posts become rare and dreary this, and my crazy hectic new school schedule, may clue you in as to why.

But I hope your new year is off to a great start and I wish you much better eating than I will have in the days weeks months to come.

Cheers!

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

